Glenfiddich 12 Year (Scotland: Speyside Single Malt: 40% ABV)

Visual: Apricot glowing bronzed liquid.

Viscosity: Cannot be told in the glass.

Nose: Warming, heather and glucose. Thick wool jumper, warm cabin wood and a very sweet edge.

Body: Sweet and slick, honeycomb. Slight dryness and wood.

Finish: Glucose, puff pasty. Burnt bits are lightly touched upon. Slight hint of richer notes.

Conclusion: Simple and sweet. Pretty much an entry level Single Malt. The floral nose doesn’t make much inroad into the main body, which sticks to a few simple notes.

Not bad for a standard pub fare, but it doesn’t play amongst the big boys of the malt world.

Addendum: this one has grown on me over the years. It’s still not a favourite, but I have come to appreciate the light fruitiness which I hadn’t noticed in my early days of tasting.   I was probably a bit harsh on it in the original review now I look back.