Modus Hoperandi
Ska Brewing: Modus Hoperandi (USA: IPA: 6.8% ABV)

Visual: Amber gold. Large frothy fudge hued head.

Nose: Resin and pine cones. Pineapple. Custard crème biscuits. Vanilla. Smooth hop character. Grapefruit. Toffee. Apricot into tangerine.

Body: Bitter and hoppy. Toffee. Grapefruit and pineapple. Digestives. Light creamy back. Good thick texture. Apricot. Squeezed fruit- orange juice. Juicy grape jam middle.

Finish: Resin. Hop oils. Hops and bitterness. Growling bitterness. Light grapefruit and bitty orange.

Conclusion: Wow. Let’s skip straight to the body here. First sip. Boom! Bitter, very bitter an full of hops. It holds that bitterness so long you think it is going to be a one note assault beer, but then it smoothly slides out into fudge, grapefruit and pineapple.

Impressive, but so far it is standard in USA IPA flavour range, if not implementation. Let the beer warm. Take another sip. Boom (part 2). Hops again, then, I shit ye not, freshly squeezed orange juice. Lovely, just lovely and unexpected.

Now it helps that this mightily chilled down beer was being drunk in the midst of bloody hot (by England terms) heat wave. As I was lounging exhausted with this in one hand it warmed up rapidly allowing easy comparison of the flavours at each point of the progression.

Now, with body out of the way let’s look top and tail. The finish is bitter, growling and with just a hint of grapefruit. Nothing unusual but a fine capstone to the beer, and just tart enough to keep the hop dryness at bay.

Top? The aroma also reacts massively to heat resulting an always hoppy and resinous aroma that shifts though grapefruit, orange, tangerine, giving you a hint at what lies waiting for you underneath in this heat state.

An excellent IPA, one of the best and up there with Hopwired. Where that beer is subtle and rounded this is assault and expression. Big hops, big flavours and big joy. Utterly brilliant and the best canned beer I have had so far.

Background: That is a cool name, when I first saw it I thought it said “Modus Operandi” Like the wild beer company beer, but then the pun hit me. I pretty much just bought it because of the name, well that and the fact I love IPAs. Not tried anything from SKA Brewing before, and I am still slightly wary of canned beer in general, but a few have tried recently are starting to convince me they can be bloody great. Just before I drank it I saw a few people discussing it online, and they loved it which put me in a good mood to try it.

